Careers & university

Scottish courses linked to DT subjects

Degrees, Graduate Apprenticeships and college routes linked to DT subjects, with standard and widening access grades (checked October 2026). Requirements change every year, so always check the course page before you apply.

Check courses against your grades →

Product & industrial design 8 courses

University · University of Strathclyde

Product Design Engineering

BEng (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS H771

StandardAAABWidening accessBBBB
Subjects
Maths and Engineering Science or Physics; N5 English (Higher preferred)
Notes
Higher Art & Design, D&M or Graphic Communication recommended. A Foundation Apprenticeship can replace a non-essential Higher.

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · University of Strathclyde

Product Design and Innovation

BSc (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS W240

StandardAAABWidening accessBBBB
Subjects
Maths and Engineering Science or Physics; N5 English (Higher preferred)
Notes
Higher Art & Design, D&M or Graphic Communication recommended.

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · University of Glasgow (with Glasgow School of Art)

Product Design Engineering

BEng (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS H3W2

StandardAAAAAWidening accessAABB
Subjects
Maths and Engineering Science or Physics, at AA
Notes
Standard: AAAAA by end of S6, at least AABB after S5. Widening access: AABB or BBBB and a pre-entry programme.

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · Glasgow School of Art

Product Design

BDes/MEDes (Hons), 4–5 yrs · UCAS HW72

StandardABBBWidening accessBBCC
Subjects
English or an English-based subject
Notes
Digital portfolio and interview.

Entry year not stated: check the course page Course details ↗

University · Edinburgh Napier University

Product Design

BDes (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS W241

StandardBBBCWidening accessBCCC
Subjects
None required; Art & Design or D&M preferred
Notes
Portfolio and interview. Year 2 entry with Advanced Highers BBC.

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · University of Edinburgh (Edinburgh College of Art)

Product Design

BA (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS W240

StandardABBB
Subjects
N5 English
Notes
ABBB in one sitting, or AABB/ABBBB over two. Digital portfolio required.

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · University of Dundee (DJCAD)

Product Design (2nd year entry)

BSc (Hons) · UCAS W240

Subjects
2 Advanced Highers at BB plus 2 Highers at BB
Notes
Portfolio and interview. Art & Design or an English-based subject preferred.

2027 entry Course details ↗

College route · Edinburgh College (Granton)

HND 3D Design: Interior, Product and Exhibition Design

HND, 2 yrs

Subjects
2 Highers or other SCQF 6 qualifications
Notes
Portfolio and interview. Leads to degree study or employment.

Entry year not stated: check the course page Course details ↗

Graphic & communication design 4 courses

University · Edinburgh Napier University

Graphic Design

BDes (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS W210

StandardBBBCWidening accessBCCC
Subjects
None required; Art & Design or D&M preferred
Notes
Portfolio and interview.

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · Glasgow School of Art

Communication Design

BA (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS W213

StandardABBBWidening accessBBCC
Subjects
English or an English-based subject
Notes
Digital portfolio and interview.

Entry year not stated: check the course page Course details ↗

University · University of Edinburgh (Edinburgh College of Art)

Graphic Design

BA (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS W210

StandardABBB
Subjects
N5 English
Notes
Digital mini-portfolio is an important part of selection. Figures shown are for 2026 entry.

2026 entry: check for 2027 Course details ↗

University · University of Dundee (DJCAD)

Art & Design (General Foundation)

BA/BDes (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS WW12

StandardABBBWidening accessBBCC
Subjects
None required; Art & Design or an English-based subject preferred
Notes
Portfolio and interview. After year 1 you choose a specialism, e.g. Graphic Design, Illustration, Animation, Jewellery.

2027 entry Course details ↗

Architecture & architectural technology 6 courses

University · University of Edinburgh (ESALA)

Architecture

BA/MA (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS K100

StandardAAAAAWidening accessABBB
Subjects
Maths at A, or Maths and Physics at B; N5 English
Notes
Evidence of artistic ability. Standard: by end of S5 preferred.

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · University of Strathclyde

Architectural Studies

BSc (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS K100

StandardAAABWidening accessBBBB
Subjects
English; Maths or Physics; and Art & Design, Graphic Communication or D&M (standard)
Notes
Without an art or design subject you may be asked for a portfolio.

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · University of Dundee

Architecture

MArch, 5 yrs · UCAS K100

StandardBBBCWidening accessBBCC
Subjects
An English-based subject

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · Robert Gordon University

Architecture

MArch, 6 yrs · UCAS K100

StandardBBBBWidening accessBCCC
Subjects
English-based subject; Maths or a science; Art & Design preferred
Notes
Without Higher Art & Design or D&M you must send a portfolio.

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · Edinburgh Napier University

Architectural Technology

BSc (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS K236

StandardBBBCWidening accessCCCC
Subjects
None listed
Notes
Year 2 entry with Advanced Highers BBC and N5 Maths.

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · Heriot-Watt University

Architectural Engineering

BEng (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS K131

StandardBBBBWidening accessBBBC
Subjects
Maths or a relevant technological subject; N5 English

2027 entry Course details ↗

Mechanical, design & robotics engineering 11 courses

University · University of Edinburgh

Mechanical Engineering

BEng (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS H300

StandardAAAAWidening accessAABB
Subjects
Maths at A and a science (Engineering Science or Physics preferred); N5 Engineering Science or Physics at B; N5 English at C
Notes
Standard: by end of S5 preferred. MEng (H303) has the same requirements.

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · University of Edinburgh

Electrical and Mechanical Engineering

BEng (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS HH36

StandardAAAAWidening accessAABB
Subjects
Maths and a science (Physics or Engineering Science preferred); N5 Engineering Science or Physics at B

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · University of Strathclyde

Mechanical Engineering

BEng (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS H300

StandardAAABWidening accessABBB
Subjects
Standard: Maths and Physics at A. Widening access: Maths and Engineering Science or Physics. N5 English
Notes
A Foundation Apprenticeship can replace a non-essential Higher.

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · University of Glasgow

Mechanical Engineering

BEng (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS H300

StandardAAAAAWidening accessAABB
Subjects
Maths and Engineering Science or Physics at AA
Notes
Standard: AAAAA by end of S6, at least AABB after S5. Widening access: AABB or BBBB plus a pre-entry programme.

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · Heriot-Watt University

Mechanical Engineering and Energy Engineering

MEng, 5 yrs · UCAS HH38

StandardAAABWidening accessBBBC
Subjects
Maths and Engineering Science or Physics; N5 English

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · Heriot-Watt University

Robotics, Autonomous and Interactive Systems

BEng (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS HP71

StandardAABBWidening accessBBBC
Subjects
Maths and one of Computing Science, Engineering Science or Physics; N5 English

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · Edinburgh Napier University

Mechanical Engineering

BEng (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS H300

StandardBBBCWidening accessBCCC
Subjects
Maths (Applications of Maths not accepted)
Notes
Year 2 entry with Advanced Highers BBC.

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · University of Dundee

Mechanical Engineering

BEng (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS H300

StandardBBBCWidening accessBBCC
Subjects
Maths and Engineering Science or Physics

2027 entry Course details ↗

Graduate Apprenticeship · Edinburgh Napier University

Engineering: Design and Manufacture (Graduate Apprenticeship)

BEng (Hons)

Subjects
You must be employed in a GA job in Scotland
Notes
Employed by a manufacturer and studying one day a week. Search GA vacancies on apprenticeships.scot.

2027 entry Course details ↗

Graduate Apprenticeship · Glasgow Caledonian University

Engineering: Design and Manufacture (Graduate Apprenticeship)

BEng (Hons), 4 yrs

StandardBBCC
Subjects
Maths and a science or technological subject; a GA job with an employer
Notes
A Foundation Apprenticeship counts as a non-essential Higher at B. Figures shown are for 2026 entry.

2026 entry: check for 2027 Course details ↗

College route · Edinburgh College (Midlothian)

Mechanical Engineering University Route

HNC then HND, then years 3–4 at Heriot-Watt

Subjects
Higher Maths and Physics or Engineering Science, or NC Engineering Systems
Notes
Two years at college, then you go straight into year 3 of the degree. A similar route exists for Electrical and Electronic Engineering.

Entry year not stated: check the course page Course details ↗

Civil & structural engineering 4 courses

University · University of Strathclyde

Civil Engineering

BEng (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS H200

StandardAAABWidening accessBBBB
Subjects
Maths at A, or at B with a science; N5 English (Higher preferred)
Notes
AABBB also accepted. A Foundation Apprenticeship can replace a non-essential Higher.

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · Heriot-Watt University

Civil Engineering

BEng (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS H200

StandardAABBWidening accessBBBC
Subjects
Maths or a relevant technological subject; N5 English

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · Edinburgh Napier University

Civil Engineering

BEng (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS H203

StandardBBBCWidening accessBCCC
Subjects
Maths (Applications of Maths not accepted)

2027 entry Course details ↗

Graduate Apprenticeship · Heriot-Watt, Strathclyde, Napier, GCU, UWS and UHI

Civil Engineering (Graduate Apprenticeship)

BEng/BSc (Hons)

Subjects
A GA job with a civil engineering employer
Notes
Offered by several universities. Employers advertise GA vacancies on apprenticeships.scot.

Entry year not stated: check the course page Course details ↗

Electrical & electronic engineering 2 courses

University · University of Strathclyde

Electronic and Electrical Engineering

BEng (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS H600

StandardAAABWidening accessBBBB
Subjects
Maths and Engineering Science or Physics; N5 English
Notes
A Foundation Apprenticeship can replace a non-essential Higher.

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · Edinburgh Napier University

Electrical and Electronic Engineering

BEng (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS H606

StandardBBBCWidening accessBCCC
Subjects
Maths (Applications of Maths not accepted)

2027 entry Course details ↗

Construction & surveying 2 courses

University · Heriot-Watt University

Quantity Surveying

BSc (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS K241

StandardABBBWidening accessBBBC
Subjects
N5 English and Maths or Applications of Maths

2027 entry Course details ↗

University · Edinburgh Napier University

Quantity Surveying (with work placement)

BSc (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS K242

StandardBBBCWidening accessCCCC
Subjects
None listed

2027 entry Course details ↗

Teaching technological education 2 courses

University · UHI Perth

Technological Education

BSc (Hons), 4 yrs · UCAS H106

StandardBBC
Subjects
English and one of Maths, D&M, Engineering Science or Physics; N5 Maths
Notes
3 Highers. Interview and PVG check. Leads to teaching technological education.

Entry year not stated: check the course page Course details ↗

College route · College HND, then University of Strathclyde

Education & Curricular Studies with Teaching Qualification (Technological Education)

BSc (Hons): HND years 1–2, then years 3–4 at Strathclyde

Subjects
Higher English (A–C) and N5 Maths, plus a relevant HND
Notes
Engineering HNDs suit best (mechanical, electrical, civil, CAD, product design with engineering). Product Design alone isn't accepted.

2027 entry Course details ↗